«…return home


Marie Howe

Alison Lurie

September 20 Reading

New York State Writers Institute

Howe, Lurie Named to NYS Posts

Albany, New York (September 14, 2012) - New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has appointed two Yaddo authors to a pair of honorary posts – Alison Lurie is the 10th New York State Author and Marie Howe is the 10th New York State Poet.

Lurie has written 10 novels, a short story collection, several children’s books, and many nonfiction works, including scholarly works examining the importance of children’s literature to global literacy and culture.  She is best known for The War Between the Tates (1974), which was hailed as a classic of time and lace, and the Pulitzer Prize-winning Foreign Affairs (1984). Her other acclaimed novels include Love and Friendship (1962), Real People (1969), The Last Resort (1998), and Truth and Consequences (2005).

Howe is the author of three books of poetry – The Good Thief (1988), selected by Margaret Atwood for the National Poetry Series; What the Living Do (1997), named one of the best collections of the year by Publishers Weekly; and The Kingdom of Ordinary Time (2008), a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. She also is co-editor (with Michael Klein) of a highly praised 1994 anthology of writing on AIDS, In the Company of My Solitude: American Writing from the AIDS Pandemic.

The State Poet and Author are selected for two-year terms by the New York State Writers Institute, located at the State University of New York at Albany, based on recommendations from advisory panels comprised of distinguished writers, and appointed by the Governor. They are not paid, but throughout their terms the state laureates promote and encourage fiction writing and poetry.

Howe and Lurie will read at a September 20th awards ceremony in Albany.

Other Yaddo writers who have served as New York State Poets and their terms of service:

Jean Valentine, 2008-2010
Jane Cooper, 1995-1997
Stanley Kunitz, 1986-1988

Other Yaddo writers who have served as New York State Authors and their terms of service:

James Salter, 1998-2000
Grace Paley, 1986-1988