«…return home

Guggenheim Foundation

Artist Sites:

Philippe Bodin

Louis Karchin

Young Jean Lee

Rosemary Mahoney

Katherine Russell Rich

Lisa Sigal

Marina Zurkow


Fifteen Yaddo Artists Win Guggenheims

Saratoga Springs, NY (April 12, 2011) - Fifteen former Yaddo residents  are among the diverse group of 180 artists, scholars, and scientists from the United States and Canada receiving 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship Awards.

Winners of the awards are selected based on distinguished past achievements and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. Guggenheim Fellowships are one-time-only grants and provide for a block of time enabling fellows to work with as much creative freedom as possible. The average individual prize varies, but generally runs in the $30,000-$40,000 range.

More than 3,000 applicants were considered by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for the 2011 fellowships. Applications in 78 different fields – from the natural sciences to the creative arts – were considered for the 2011 awards.

Yaddo artists receiving 2011 Guggenheim Fellowships are composers Philippe Bodin, Louis Karchin, and Manuel Sosa; filmmaker Marina Zurkow; poet Cynthia Zarin; fiction writers Jonathan Dee, Karen Russell, and Lara Vapnyar; nonfiction writers John D’Agata, Wil Haygood, Rosemary Mahoney, Katherine Russell Rich, and Patricia Volk; performance artist Young Jean Lee; and visual artist Lisa Sigal.